40MPH FZ6 slide vs F150, with frame slider pictures

Brackson

Touring Member
Reaction score
Visit site
I have been riding for a few years, but I had only owned this beautiful machine for a week when this happened. I was out for a ride on a beautiful Saturday morning in April. I had ridden up to Gettysburg and spend the day checking out the battlefields. I had been on the bike for the better part of 8 hours at the time of the accident. I was leaving Gettysburg heading home and I was stuck behind three vehicles. The front one (a minivan) was doing about 40-45 MPH in a 55, and had been for miles. Behind the minivan was a Ford F150, and between the F150 and myself was a Nissan Murano.

After a few miles of this very slow pace on very beautiful winding roads we reached a passing zone with no oncoming traffic. I went to pass the Nissan and as I was next to it, the F150 starts turning left into a driveway. What I couldn't see from behind the Murano was that the F150 had its left turn signal on. I was boxed in with no where to go.

I immediately applied both brakes and the clutch but I was heading straight towards the side of the F150 and would end up launching over it at the rate I was going so I leaned towards the small gap between the Nissan and the F150 and laid it down. The bike and I slid part way under the F150 but mostly between it and the Nissan. I palmed the bumper of the F150 to try and redirect myself and the bike from hitting his rear tire. The whole thing happened so fast I still can't believe all that I experienced, considered, and acted on in such a short window of time.