ABS brake conversion

Hoshiko

Hoshiko
Reaction score
Visit site
Hi everyone,
I drove to Henry’s Bend PA to spend 4th of July long weekend with my wife and 2 dogs far from the city,
We left late at night and before the house you have to drive almost 40 miles of rural, dark roads, lots of turns and up and down hills, lots of trees right by the edge of the road; Anyways, I’m a slow driver and I was going 10 miles below the limit and even with that I almost hit a deer, my reaction was to step on the brakes as hard as I could. I have 16 years of driving and besides the little fender bender, I have never had a serious accident and I feel that if I was on the bike instead of the car I will be writing the story of how I got in to an accident to avoid the crash with the deer.
Now the question, is it possible to do the brake conversion from the normal breaks to ABS brakes?
Has anyone done it? How, how much, Any thoughts.

Thanks

fzme

Reaction score
Visit site
Generically speaking, anything is possible. For what it might cost you, though, you could possibly trade in your FZ6 for an ABS equiped bike...Sorry, not really much help...just know that it's possible (and likely costly).

NineseveN

Reaction score
Visit site
There are no bikes (FZ6) with ABS in the USA

Nope, you could look at ABS-equipped BMW's, the Suzuki Bandit 1250ABS, SV650ABS or a Honda VFR 800 ABS to start though. I actually ended up not getting an FZ6 primarily for that reason. Wish they had the ABS models over here.

Hoshiko

Hoshiko
Reaction score
Visit site
Nope, you could look at ABS-equipped BMW's. I actually ended up not getting an FZ6 primarily for that reason. Wish they had the ABS models over here.

I am thinking on a F800ST, nice looking bike, whish it had the FZ6 exhaust under the seat but I really like the one side swingarm and the fact that does not have a chain to clean. Ofcurse the abs option too.

What bike did you ended up buying?

NineseveN

Reaction score
Visit site