Customized R6 Rear Shock

FZ6-ZN

Insert nonsense here
Reaction score
Visit site
It started almost two months ago when at a spur of the moment; I bought a R6 rear shock off eBay for $24.00.

After reading jesfz6r’s post on Sportbikes.Net, I was skeptical about retrofitting the R6 rear shock, but I decided to go ahead with the modification anyhow taking cognizance of problems that others encountered.

This is not a ‘how to do” but rather a “what to do” to overcome the problems encountered by others when doing this mod.

A R6 shock is customizable and it can easily be rebuilt to outperform the stock FZ6 shock, that said, if you know what you are doing.

I am no expert on the subject, so I consulted a suspension guru, fortunately for me he is my next door neighbor, and this is what he did.

Rebuilt the R6 shock valve stack so that the compression and rebound when set in the middle of its range is the same as the FZ6 shock

Cut the FZ6 spring to 170mm and shaped and grinded the coil end to obtain a flat surface.

Replaced the oil with 5wt and re-gassed.

I had a little bit of blue paint left from a minor repair that I did some time ago so I color matched the spring to my bike.

View attachment 22640

The R6 shocks upper bush is smaller (Ф 10mm) than the FZ6 shock (Ф 12mm) so doesn’t fit properly into the top mounting bracket and without the following mod it’s a rattle fit.

I fixed this by machining two collars to the following dimensions:

View attachment 22635

You will need to order the following Ф10mm bolt “part number 90105-10323” as the FZ6 upper mounting bolt is Ф12mm

I didn’t want to annihilate the rear hugger as the hugger keeps dirt off of the rear shock, so I just cut a hole into the hugger for the reservoir to pass through.

View attachment 22639

The only difficult part of this mod is the cutting of the top shock mount bracket on the sub frame. This allows enough room for the top of the shock, not to catch the sub frame.