Help/Advice: Installing Multiple Electronic Accessories on FZ6-S2

WastedWrath

Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
I have a 2008 FZ6 S2 and would like to install 4 Electronic accessories onto it.
I am a complete beginner to this so would prefer the easiest way with least risk that I break everything.
I have been researching for hours and it seems that the best way for this would bike would be: Battery>In-line fuse>Automotive relay>Accessories.

I have drawn a rudimentary diagram which is probably wrong.
diagram.jpg
Question: can I just connect multiple lines to one output of the relay? What amp do you recommend the in-line fuse be?

I have also heard about positaps however I have no idea if this would be a better way to install multiple devices.
I could possibly just positap from many switched power lines to each one of my devices?

Any and all advice welcome, thanks.

Motogiro

Vrrroooooom!
Staff member
Elite Member
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
You're on the right track. The main fuse is a 30 ampere so I would recommend staying below that. A 20 amp should be good as your inline fuse. Add up the current requirements of the devices you plan to have to insure you're below your relay and fuse ratings.
The other consideration is running higher current devices at the same time. What are the heated glove and heated grips going to draw? The FZ6 does not have a lot of extra charging capacity so depending on the type of riding you might manage when you run higher current draw on the system. An example might be "stop n go" city with less wind and less engine rpm for charging would mean turning higher current demand off when not required. At higher speeds, more wind, more rpm, higher current.

There are also more pricey,really trick and integrated power management devices out there. I'm sure others will chime in.

trepetti

It's all good!
Elite Member
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
chiming in :)