Newbie here, need ideas for a strong top case/luggage rack to support large dog carrier!

Ladybugfz6

Reaction score
Visit site
Hi, I'm Donna, new member from Kent, WA. I should have joined years ago but just never did. I have a beautiful red 2007 FZ6. My husband and I enjoyed many trips together for years. (He had an FZ1). Sadly he passed away last year. I miss those trips big time! But I don't want to give up on riding. Thing is, I have a new member of my family, Greta, 1 yr old German Shepherd mix. We do everything together and in my dreams I've tried to figure out a way to take her on my bike. Well, I recently came across the coolest thing! I'll post pics below. A carrier for large dogs! I'd love to give this a try. But since the back end of the FZ6 isn't real big they suggested I get some sort of a luggage rack like in the pic shown, with several contact points on the bike for support. It should work great then. I would love to hear from any of you who have a similar rack or any other suggestions for me. I'm super nervous to give it a try, but really really want to take my girl with me! If Jess with goruffly.com can do it then so can I!! Thanks ahead of time!!

IMG-6925.jpg unnamed.jpg IMG-6147.PNG IMG-6146.PNG

Gary in NJ

Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
Welcome to here Donna.

I think it’s great that you want to include your dog in your activities. Before you head down this road, I would consult a dog trainer, one that specializes in positive reinforcement. Here’s why…

Dogs hate motorcycles. I don’t know if it’s the noise, or the way they move, but their natural instinct is to meet a motorcycle with aggression or a warning. The good news is at one-year old, your dog can be trained via positive reinforcement (treats). I think just having your dog sit next to a running motorcycle would be a big win. Getting the dog to sit while you rev the engine would be another big step.