Radiator Fan not working, help!

Coach Rob

Reaction score
Visit site
Hello Riders

I need some help. My battery died out and I replaced it but now my radiator fan is not working. any advice on what to do or how to test the fan motor?
(2009 fz600)

I'm a rookie when it comes to fixing bikes, dont know much, thanks for your comments

TownsendsFJR1300

2007 FZ6
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
Hello Riders

I need some help. My battery died out and I replaced it but now my radiator fan is not working. any advice on what to do or how to test the fan motor?
(2009 fz600)

I'm a rookie when it comes to fixing bikes, dont know much, thanks for your comments

Welcome to the forum!

Did you check for any rocks, pebbles jammbed inbetween the fan and radiator? That is the main killer of the fan. It should spin, by hand, freely.

There's a 20 amp fuse for the fan, its unlikely its blown but check it first. When you replaced your battery, you didn't happen to un-plug anything under the tank did you? Another member(with fan issues) posted the doesn't kick un until 100C.

The manual calls for the fan to kick on between 95c and 105C, (203F to 221F degree's)

If it still doesn't kick on, you can disconnect it (a PIA under the tank) and hook it (the fan)directly to a 12 volt battery. Check it in different spots on the fan rotation should the be a dead spot on the main shaft.

Please post what you find and good luck.

Last edited:

dpaul007

Reaction score
Visit site
Hello Riders

(2009 fz600)

Mine only kicks in when the coolant temp reaches 212 degrees F.

elus1ve

Reaction score
Visit site
Hello. I have had trouble with the fan in the past and just recently. How did you figure out that you are having a fan issue? Did the engine warning light go on? Did your coolant start boiling and dripping out of the coolant reservoir? If yes, do what TownsendsFJR1300 said.