S1 vs. S2

ltdillard

commutaholic
Reaction score
Visit site
Greetings,

I have been riding a 2004 (fast) Blue FZ6 for a couple of years now. I was not the original owner, but have put 3/4ths of the miles on it. I mainly commute with it, with some short pleasure rides occasionally. Overall it has been a great bike.

I recently bought a 2007 (faster? ;)) Red. The main reason I was looking at this particular bike was that it came with side and top Givi cases. And it didn't hurt that it was low miles and super clean.

A couple of observations about the two versions.
  • The S2 windscreen really pushes the air out of my way much better. I am 6'1" and on the S1 I had lots of wind buffering at the shoulder and neck area; none of that with the S2. In fact, this wind issue was a huge annoyance on the S1, especially with the dearth of aftermarket alternatives for this version. The S2 has Puig screen, but I don't know exactly which model (it is no higher than the mirrors, so it is not a touring model)
  • The S1 throttle appears to be slightly more responsive. I don't know if this is a difference in the versions or someting a PO did
  • I like the S2 instrument cluster better
  • Both have Corbin seats, but this one of the S2 is really slick! I slide towards the tank constantly. I think this one is slightly more comfortable than the S1.

I was interested in the S2 mainly due to the bags, but what sold it for me was the better wind protection. I would be interested in what others who have had both versions might think.
TD

raja777m

Ride like you own it..!
Reaction score
Visit site
Blue: fast,
Red: faster,
Raven: fastest..! :D Blah
Greetings,

I have been riding a 2004 (fast) Blue FZ6 for a couple of years now. I was not the original owner, but have put 3/4ths of the miles on it. I mainly commute with it, with some short pleasure rides occasionally. Overall it has been a great bike.