The Utah "going for a ride" thread

abacall

Speedy recovery
Reaction score
Visit site
Unfortunately, I can't join you... here Los Angeles, CA.
But I have few questions about UT weather on November/December.
Would you let me know how the weather conditions would be at the sourthern parts of UT? (if you have some idea)
Zion, Moab, or Mexican Hat regions....specifically.
Snow, Rain, Wind, or Temperatures... ????
Would it be some hard time? or could be enjoyable riding ??
I have a plan in mind to ride up there on this holiday season, but not sure if I could go up and enjoy the ride at this winter time; i'm not that experienced for the harsh weather conditions yet.
Thanks

Weather down south is as variable as it gets this time of year. I mean, you can have beautiful fall days with temps in the 70's, or you can have snow/sleet and freezing temps. Utah is high up (about 4500 ft at it's lowest) and with that altitude comes very variable weather.

Moab Weather..

This is a pretty normal week, but you just never know. I would plan for October for great weather.

I would NOT ride up in December. There are some passes that will be gnarly. I've seen full on blizzards that were scary in my Subaru, but as soon as I got down a little, sunny skies. That's the nature of the high-altitude desert in the winter. You can get stranded in a cage, while a few miles down the road it's just fine.

Last edited:

abacall

Speedy recovery
Reaction score
Visit site
Question for you, sir!
Do you not have trouble with the tires slipping out from under you on snow? Last Saturday I rode to work, when I went to lunch a couple hours later it was coming down hard, and starting to stick. I parked her halfway home and took a taxi; my faceshield freezing up was the worst part but the bike felt woozy on the snow too; just would like to know your thoughts/experience. Thanks!