2010 Ducati Streetfighter - riding impressions

razteo

Special Member
Reaction score
Visit site
I rented a 2010 Ducati Streetfighter & I rode it 200 miles of all over the Malibu canyons all day on Saturday. Since I’m not too good at writing, I will just throw a bunch of good & bad thoughts about that bike here & you sort them out. (I have pictures somewhere in my phone, but the bike was exactly like the one attached here).

As you can probably guess is a way different bike then our beloved FZ6.

Is more comfortable than I thought, minus the handlebars that killed my wrists.
The high seat made leaning more difficult for me especially in the beginning, and although toward the end of the day I improved quite a bit, I still wished that seat was lower.

The bike is beautiful, but I wasn’t impressed by the fit & finish. The LCD display is easy to read but all the controls (lights, turn signal, engine shut off, etc) are tiny and they have a wired feel & I found them difficult to use.

Vibration from that L twin is not too bad, less than I was expecting, but still, after ½ hour of riding my left hand was almost numbed.
(I rode all day with a guy that rented a 1098 and his hand would get numbed the same way. The “hard to press” clutch level also contributed, I think)

But all this is nothing, the ride is everything!

I was amazed about how light the bike was; it almost felt like a bicycle or a scooter, not like a motorcycle & it gave me a lot of confidence.

The sound of the engine (with stock pipes) was absolutely intoxicating and the dry clutch “grind” was the cherry on the top. Is not a quiet bike.

The engine pulls like a demon. Is hard to describe that brutal torque, but it just pulls from any RPM and I had to be careful because half-way wheelies are something that comes with the bike when launching straight.