Stiff throttle modification recommendations

Shakti

Reaction score
Visit site
After putting 15K on my beloved 08 FZ6 I still hate the stiff throttle. At an ever rapidly increasing rate, I experience terrible pain and have resorted to medicating prior to riding. Any suggestions for loosening up the throttle??

Keep in mind I am not a mechanic... I'll probably need to forward this to my mechanic.

ChanceCoats123

Reaction score
Visit site
FZ6 uses a throttle cable instead of electrical signals, so make sure the cable is well lubricated. Additionally, there are products you can buy to make the throttle less exhausting on your hand.

TownsendsFJR1300

2007 FZ6
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
After putting 15K on my beloved 08 FZ6 I still hate the stiff throttle. At an ever rapidly increasing rate, I experience terrible pain and have resorted to medicating prior to riding. Any suggestions for loosening up the throttle??

Keep in mind I am not a mechanic... I'll probably need to forward this to my mechanic.

+1^^^^

The throttle shouldn't be difficult at all to turn.

Besides lubricating the cables, check uner the plastic throttle tube for any rust / crap binding up between the bar and and the throttle cable tube. (inside/underneath the throttle grip).

FinalImpact

2 Da Street, Knobs R Gone
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
Another factor is this;
Its a double pull cable setup. You pull to open the throttle and the other cable pulls it shut with the aid of the return spring on the TB assembly.
  • If there is NO FREEPLAY between these two cables, it will twist very hard in both directions. Add play using a set of 10mm wrenches. I'm pretty sure even adding play at the grip area won't fix this one. Go here and if the cable are taunt, add some freeplay to the bottom cable. Loosen the forward nut shove the cable rearward, turn it CCW ~ 1 full turn, put it back and snug the jamb nut. Try that and see what happens. Add more if need be.