78 hp vs 98?

elitazzy

Reaction score
Visit site
Hi all. i'm new in every sence to bikes and just about to buy my first one . its a fz6n from possibly 2009 but its not the s2 version. so on the yamaha history site it says its a value for money unupdated version. so it should be 78 hp.
is that allways true? and are there ways of adding the power back?
thx and happy holidays
Eli.;)

elitazzy

Reaction score
Visit site
no. i'm not mate. i have yet to lay eyes on the bike so in a week i'll know more. its just that in Denmark its sooooo expenssive to buy a new bike , that even if it sayes fx a 2011 model you can be sure it was made a couple of years before that . and now the hp is not to be trusted. but i'll know more in a few days. it was more of a general inquiry .

elitazzy

Reaction score
Visit site
thx. i think a few riders in Denmark think they own the 98 hp but when u do the check on the no plate you can see its fx 57 kw or 78 version. its coss its so expencive that the deelers r trying to stay competetive. i hope the guy that is selling me the bike is willing to test it for hp.
thx again
eli.

FinalImpact

2 Da Street, Knobs R Gone
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
There are several threads on this topic.

To the best of my knowledge the only difference is the throttle stop restricting the maximum volume of air the engine can ingest.

Its easily corrected. However, i don't live there and don't know that they DIDN'T do other things!
If possible this could be settled by looking at the PN on the OEM ECU! If the ecu has the same part number as all the other FZ's out there, its a simple fix. Replace the throttle stop and let it breath.

Sample of US bike with NO restriction.
OpenITup2_zps6u3e752f.gif

Position of Throttle Stop at idle:
picture.php

At WOT - blades must rotate ~ 90° from idle position!!!
picture.php