Chain and Sprocket replacement

Jakib2

Reaction score
Visit site
I recently traded someone on craiglist for a 2005 FZ6. I'm really enjoying her so far but the chain definitely needs to be replaced. Just reached around 20k but the previous owner drove her really hard.

I'm having trouble finding the exact chain and sprocket I need to buy. I plan on getting it online as cheap as I can and bringing it in for install to a local shop.

I use my bike mostly for going to and from school and to the gym. Mostly city driving stop and go not over 50mph.

I've read so far that I would want to go with a 530 chain? Possibly -1? I'm pretty new to chain drives and am a little confused. How many links should I be looking for? 120? Is the -1 in relation to the chain # or the sprocket specs? I can't find anything in the manual.

Right now when I up and down shifting she is very jerky. The chain is pretty rusted and the back tire has got a ton of white powder. The previous owner says he lubed it a lot but I'm coming from a shaft drive so I want it to ride as smooth as possible.

At the same time I'm not trying to change the chain too much or spend that much money being the broke college student that I am.

Anyone have any suggestions/info/help? Thanks a bunch!

Last edited:

JeffSez59

Reaction score
Visit site
Correct on the 530 for the chain size, and the 1 you speak of I believe their speaking about going 1 tooth up on the counter sprocket (front little one) which will lower the gearing (less acceleration, more top end) reducing the rpms for a giving speed. On the chain length I'm not sure since I have yet to change mine and actual look at what I need but I do plan on going 1 up on the counter sprocket. And remember it's easier to take links out than put back in so buy larger if your not sure and invest in a chain breaker. Good luck

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using Tapatalk

Jakib2

Reaction score
Visit site