Chronic whine.

LesL60

Reaction score
Visit site
Anyone have a high pitched whine that is consistent regardless of RPM, speed, gear, or any other mechanical influence? Sounds close to my tinnitus, but isn't. Vacuum leak of some sort? My questions are obviously those of non-wrenching rider.

Love my 2004 FZ6.

Also have front tire howl between 50 and 60 mph. Not present outside that range. Too much tread left to replace, doesn't vibrate or shake, and pressure is right. Simple solution is to ride outside the range, especially faster.

Thanks.

Kaisersoze

Reaction score
Visit site
Im just learning the mechanical aspects of motorcycle care myself. :D How many miles on bike? I know at some point you have to regrease the bearings on, what seems to be, almost every part of your bike. Also, since its an 04', have you replaced sprockets/chain? If its stiff chain or sprockets worn I guess it could make noise.

LesL60

Reaction score
Visit site
All mechanicals are OK. Whine occurs moving or not, fast or slow, it's pitch never changes. Spring and Fall in Wisconsin are the times for service interval work; Fall is coming and will have it gone over by my trusted wrench.

Thanks for your thoughts. All are appreciated.

Motogiro

Vrrroooooom!
Staff member
Elite Member
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
Anyone have a high pitched whine that is consistent regardless of RPM, speed, gear, or any other mechanical influence? Sounds close to my tinnitus, but isn't. Vacuum leak of some sort? My questions are obviously those of non-wrenching rider.

Love my 2004 FZ6.

Also have front tire howl between 50 and 60 mph. Not present outside that range. Too much tread left to replace, doesn't vibrate or shake, and pressure is right. Simple solution is to ride outside the range, especially faster.

Thanks.