Engine Braking

lonesoldier84

SuperFlanker Moderator
Premium Member
Reaction score
Visit site
ive spent the past week practicing engine braking based on advice from internet forums.

i had not been using it at ALL before and now that I have started using it i am amazed at how amazing it is. coming into corners, mid corners, on straights.....it is a SUPER stable form of braking.

so other noobs out there, start working on it. it will save your life. it will decrease stopping distances, and increase stability when you need it most. thats what i found. but im a noob. hopefully the seasoned vets will back me up on that one.

as for my question:

how much is too much? I have given it quite a bit of clutch and it wants to throw me off the bike almost. thing is, it is holding the bike back at the transmission, which is in the middle of the bike. So will the bike really want to flip forwards if given too much? if you are leaning waaaay back is it possible to still slip forwards in anything short of the worst possible way of engine braking? if you lean waaaay back and drop to first gear and let of clutch as quickly as possible without being abrupt, is that the best possible braking technique (combined with usual front and rear brakes) for WORST case emergency situations??? or do you need to worry about flying off the bike so much that even in a worst case emergency situation you would still be conscious of not giving too much engine braking?

to simplify....can you give the bike TOO MUCH engine braking even if you are leaning waaaaaay back and weigh 220lbs.

GConn

Squid hater
Reaction score
Visit site
If I got the picture right....I wouldn't worry about fliping the bike using engine braking but you should be carefull not to lock your rear when downshifting. That could cause other problems.

Bullwinkle

Reaction score
Visit site