Have questions on new FZ6 purchase

cbigbie191

Reaction score
Visit site
I am seriously considering a new FZ6, I have a good dealer near me and he is willing to deal on price, and they have a great shop and mechanics.

1. How much horsepower does a stock FZ6 have? (I have been riding for several years but I don't want to get in over my head.)

2. I am 6 foot 4 @ 280 pounds. Will I be comfortable on the bike? (I'm in the process of loosing weight and its working, down 25 pounds so far and counting.)

3. Dumb question.....is it a reliable bike for everyday commuting?

Thanks for your input..:iconbeer:

I am seriously considering a new FZ6, I have a good dealer near me and he is willing to deal on price, and they have a great shop and mechanics.

1. How much horsepower does a stock FZ6 have? (I have been riding for several years but I don't want to get in over my head.)

2. I am 6 foot 4 @ 280 pounds. Will I be comfortable on the bike? (I'm in the process of loosing weight and its working, down 25 pounds so far and counting.)

1. I believe HP is mid 90s @ around 12,000 RPM

3. My experience has always been anyting Yamaha makes the fit and finish and reliablilty are second to none. This is my first bike but we've had 7 Yamaha snowmobiles, 4 of the latest 4 strokes which are essentially the same motor as the motorcycles, and have never had a single problem.

1. I have seen anywhere from 88-98 HP at the rear wheel, depending on the magazine that did the test.
2. You should fit just fine.
3. This is a very, very reliable bike. This is the only forum I have ever seen where most people talk about mods instead of repairs!

I think FZ6 is one of the most versatile bikes around. Do not let the HP figures scare you , if you have some basic motorcycle experience, this bike is a dream. Very user friendly and non scary power band.