Help - Engine Miss

plrbear

Reaction score
Visit site
Hi all, I'm new to this whole street bike. I just picked up a 2006 FZ6 with 4,500 miles on the clock. Since I've had this It seems to have a miss thats most noticeable from idle to about 5000 RPMs above that it seems to have a vibration in the bars and seat also the throttle is really sensitive when your fist twisting it open. I have tried searching the forums and keep coming back empty so I decided to ask the experts (you guys:thumbup:) I've ran good fuel and seafoam though a couple tanks, replaced the plugs, sprayed ether around the intake/vacuum lines and had the throttle bodies synced twice still nothing. Any help you offer would be greatly appreciated.

Kaisersoze

Reaction score
Visit site
Sounds like how my bike appears to normally operate. Has a slight miss when slowly revving but does NOT effect performance, and from what I gather most people (including myself) experience a decent amount of vibes. I scared me at first too because I thought something was terribly wrong but its just normal. If you arent having performance issues I would just try syncing the Throttle bodies (helped smooth idle out for me) and not waste too much summer weather with worrying. :BLAA:

good luck and congrats on bike!

ebk02

Reaction score
Visit site
Okay - here goes. You replaced plugs and had carbs (injection?) synced. You need to get some tools, and take a ride. Get the bike to the point where it is missing the most and, hold it there for a bit. Now, pull clutch, chop throttle and hit kill switch all together. Get bike to side of road and pull plugs. If you have a lazy cylinder, that plug will look different than the other 3.
Also, check compression, and fuel delivery. This should point to which cylinder is causing the miss.

Kaisersoze

Reaction score
Visit site