lean questions

txlyman

Reaction score
Visit site
I am still very new to riding (5 months experience and 4k miles on my '09)

Alright, I searched and read some info but I have not gotten a straight answer.

I was taking an extreme S turn off ramp at posted speeds and concentrating on my lean. I was in it very comfortably, but then it all went wrong. I didn't hear anything touch the ground, and I could very well have bounced on imperfections but I stood it up and got through the turn at a wider exit than I wanted. In the back of my head I am always worried about running out of tire and sliding out, and that doesn't help at all either.

Anywho, I am wondering what exactly will hit first.. will I have an audible scraping from my peg feelers or stand before I run out of tire on the factory '09 tires? Also, I feel like my toes are going to hit and disrupt my turn. Should I be riding with the balls of my feet on the pegs or closer to the controls?

It looks as though I have 1-2mm of rear tire unused on each side but I guess I'm looking for some reassurance
Sorry for the book :)

Last edited:
Balls of your feet, yes. Pegs will scrape first...no biggie.

You are no where near the edge of performance so focus on your riding, not the bike.

Yeah I know I will never push it to its' limits.. just in the back of my mind I feel like I'll hit sidewall and slide out while turning suddenly without any warning like pegs hitting.

If you look at the drivers pegs, they fold up, they do this so when you lean too much that i the bike's way of telling you the lean is too great. Nothing wrong with the bike, just be safe! ATGATT:thumbup:

The only time you should think of your tires failing is if they are brand new (500miles or less) or they need to be replaced, so no worrys there and try not ti think about your leaning either just keep your eyes focused on where you want the bike to go and it will go there

Sent from my R800x using Tapatalk