New upper fairing on old FZ6?

mduhon

Reaction score
Visit site
Hi guys,

So today I had my bike hit in the parking lot and it ended up doing a lot of damage. It broke my windscreen, upper fairing in multiple parts, brackets for the mirror and inside fairing on the left hand side. I am looking for options for replacement as this is too much for just gluing back together. I haven't had much luck finding fairings for my 2005 FZ6 but I found several for 2007 and newer. I was wondering if anyone has ever put a newer fairing on the older bike? I know I might have to do some modifications or get a few different parts but over all I was wondering if anyone had ever done this swap before. If not does anyone know of a fairing for sale off of an '04-'06? I looked through the sale section but no luck on the forum as of now.

Thanks for the suggestions

example fairing for sale: Fairing

Tallyho

Reaction score
Visit site
In the same boat as you. I've been scouring the internet for 6 months with no luck. Babbits or ayers has new replacement parts that aren't all that bad. I have about the same damage and it totals around $600. If you do find parts used they are likely to be damaged. There is the option to go naked. Kits are pretty chintzy from what ive seen though. Plus I really like the wind protection. Here is my dilemma though, the value of these bikes are so low that spending the money on them is an investment you won't get back.

TownsendsFJR1300

2007 FZ6
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
UPDATED 5-3-17

The fairing stay is different between the two bikes, your cluster will not on the S2..

You'll likely need the S2's black inner panels too.

I don't know if you might have to trim some some of the plastic or may have some gap (by the cluster)...

**BTW, that E-Bay listing in your first post DOES NOT include the "moles": parts 8 and 10 (which aren't cheap):
Yamaha Motorcycle Parts 2007 FZ6 - FZS6W COWLING 1 Diagram