Radiator - Need advice

HottyToddy

Reaction score
Visit site
1st time poster, long time lurker! I recently acquired an '06 FZ6. The story I got was that the driver "fell asleep" while riding one night. I've been riding all sorts of bikes for almost 40 years, and to date, I have yet had the inclinling of even dosing off during a ride, so I must sumise that there were other factors involved with this wreak. The bike has been in a garage for about 2-3 years. I am also currently working on getting all the necessary parts needed to fix the bike, most importantly the ignition swich which is OEM and on its way, so I can atleast see if this bike will even turn over since the person I got the bike from had lost the keys.

I'm getting a new gas tank as it was dented from the wreck, so there will not be any contaminates in the fuel system, however I am concerned about the radiator. While no visable signs show of any damage, what should I do in order to flush it out, and possibly get rust (assuming it is in there) out?

Should there be an issue with the engine itself, has anyone done a cost analyst on buying a referbished motor, or simply rebuilding it yourself? Should you rebuild it yourself, can you increase the horsepower of the engine itself?

Thanks for all of your insites on this matter!

FinalImpact

2 Da Street, Knobs R Gone
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
Flush garden hose to fill neck (dont force it to seal) and pull off the hose at the water pump.

Because your engine is cold, the thermostat will be closed so flushing the block is slower as the stat has a small bleed hole allowing limited water flow. You can flush the block from the open hose. Install cap and fit garden hose loosely to open rubber hose.

Household water pressures can be 40 to 60+ psi and this will explode a radiator so do NOT allow pressure to build from hose/house connection.