Trip from Wisconsin to Florida

Clintpatt

Clintpatt
Reaction score
Visit site
Planning a trip from Wisconsin to florida

I am planning a motorcycle trip from Wisconsin to Florida and back. It will be a 2 week trip and it will be me and my wife on my fz6. We will be staying in hotels so we wont have any camping gear. Basically all we will be carrying on the bike in enough clothes for one week (we will be doing laundry) and all of our cameras, toiletries, one laptop, phones, and other small living items. I am not a fan of hard cases but i know for a long trip like this they are a must so the wife has a back rest and they are more secure from theft.
1. My first question is what would be the best luggage setup for the two of us and all of our stuff?
2. I am new to touring so i am not really sure what to expect to be able to accomplish mileage/hours of riding wise for two people a day?
3. What kind of places should i try to stay in to get the best bang for my buck?
4. Finally from everyone's experience what are things that are a must to pack for trips like this.:confused:

The bike i have is a red 2007 FZ6

Sounds like you need to find someone to weld on an attachment to the back of your bike if you want to mount a large case back there.

This trip wont start until Wisconsin has warmed up but jackets will be brought and yes i have ordered a new seat that should be coming shortly.

Here is a pic of the seat i have on the way.

What do you mean by an attachment ?

Givi has hardware and bags to attach to the bike.....nothing special about it really, no welding involved but it can get pricey:

FZ6 S2 Fazer '07-'09 - Yamaha - Shop by Bike - TwistedThrottle.com

And cotton is not good....get some of the Under Armor or Nike heat gear. It breathes better, doesn't hold sweat, and it packs a lot smaller.
Start stocking up on "travel sized" everything and wet wipes, cause ya never know! LOL

Last edited:
Re: Planning a trip from Wisconsin to florida