Zip ties One, lose caliper 0! Whats in your emergency fix it kit?

52pickup

Reaction score
Visit site
Riding home I some how lost not one but two of the bolt that attach the caliper to the front fork. How I lost the hardware mystifies me. My only warning was a slight bump which qucikly turned into a rattle. I'm no mechanic...and just bought my bike thLis spring so literally everything is new. But my "spider senses" must have kicked in as I pulled into a local convenience store. The caliper was just hanging there by the break line. I still had 15 miles to get home and A couple of kind folks helped me out and we figured zip ties would do the trick, but I didnt have any. Another onlooker came up with some and handed them to me with a smile. As i rode home I started to realized that I had no clue what kind of fix it kit should be included on all bikes. So FZ6 nation, what do you carry?

ctbandit

Fazer, don't even know er
Reaction score
Visit site
Holy ****!!! That could have been BAD. Had you recently worked on the front end?

iSteve

Reaction score
www.flickr.com
Your spider senses kicked in after your caliper was hanging off the fork dangling near a spinning wheel where at any time it could have got stuck in a spokes sending you over the handle bars. Not to mention at the very least making your front brake useless.

Hmmm, I would say it's time to work on your spider senses. Until then tighten all your bolts on your bike. This is not normal.

TownsendsFJR1300

2007 FZ6
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
I forgot what I have extra in my stock tool kit besides a Dyna plug tire repair tool.

I would strongly suggest investing in a torque wrench and going over the entire bike. Its basic maintainance and will prevent later issues. (not judging, just something I feel anyone riding a bike should know what he's trusting his life to)