2004 FZ vs. 2006, 2007....

XTRAWLD

Reaction score
Visit site
Hi all,

I'm new to this forum and after much research have decided to upgrade from my Ninja 250 to an FZ6. I'm still learning about the different generations of this particular bike and would like to pose my question to those that own them. I need opinions and help.

On Saturday, we are planning to look at a 2004 FZ6. We actually put a considerably deposit down on it for now until we physically get there to see it. It is a great deal with really low miles, clean, 1 owner (a policeman), never been down, etc. Is there anything I should be looking for at particular on this bike? Should I wait for the opportunity to buy another generation, possibly a 2006 or 2007?

I have been reading multiple reviews on the 2004 version and have read about "jerky shifting" "harsh clutch engagement" etc. Has any of this been rectified with ECU remapping on the later models? Is there better fuel injection on the newer models? The dealer that got the bike from the owner did a test ride before posting it for sale. Apparently it rides amazing, and when asked about these "jerky quirks" he was quick to say that he has "no idea why people think that" and that it's a great bike.

I guess I'm most curious about when the did the major improvements on the FZ's and should I jump at this chance?

Thank you all very much.
(To top it off, I realize I didn't even spell my USERNAME correctly - because I was SO excited to sign in and get this question in....my next course of action - how do I change my user name?) LOL

Lefty

Quis, mihi fatigo?
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
Welcome to the forum! :welcome: