Getting a BMW, Does This Make Me a Traitor?

Dr.Volts

Dr.Volts
Reaction score
Visit site
I just got a letter from an old friend who is cleaning his garage. He wants to give me a '75 BMW R-90/6 for free. It doesn't run, but I am a good mechanic and I have experience reviving outboards from the 1940's and '50's so I should be able to get it going assuming parts availability. It was running when parked in '85 with no storage done.

I think this bike would be a nice complement to the FZ6. If I want to ride in comfort for long distances it could be the ticket. It also could leave me stranded far from home. It's blue, so all my gear would match.

Now in addition to consuming a lot of time on the FZ6 forum, I can blow time looking at BMW forums.

So I guess that makes me a traitor, sort of...

Grats! :D

Nothing quite like a 'classic' in the garage for weekend runs to compliment a more modern bike!

Since it's free, we'll let it ride... this time... :p

Congrats, I'd like to have a BMW too! :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:

Hey very cool bike.

I noticed you have a TX-500. Probably the only one left in existance! How does she run? I had a '73 TX that was my first bike. The electric start never work and I had to kick it over, and over, and over, and over, and over, and...well you get the point. I thought I was Kenny Roberts on that bike.

Free bike, technical tools in the brain and still keeping the FZ6? Traitor = NO!!! Adventurer = YES!!! Go for it!! Lucky bastid!!!

Hey Hellgate,