My first ride to work today! :)

ELIZABETH

Goofball Extraordinaire
Reaction score
Visit site
Well, I was a bit of a bundle of nerves, but I rode my bike to work today for the first time. I'm sure it's no biggie to most of you, but, being a newbie, I was a little intimidated at venturing out in 20 miles of traffic, and crossing the Mississippi River on a busy bridge. I did fine, watched the cagers like a hawk, and kept reminding myself to own my lane and get ready to swerve if needed. Now that it's nearly time to go back home, the butterflies are getting active in my stomach again. :eek:

Andz

Phantom Rider
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
There's nothing makes a Friday better than riding to work! Unless, of course, you can take the day off and just RIDE!

Just stay alert and enjoy, it gets easier!

Dennis in NH

Reaction score
Visit site
Good for you. Enjoy the gas savings.

Keep doing it and it'll get easier.

I find it a lot more fun to ride to work than drive. I hope you find the same.

Stay safe.

Dennis

mstewar1

hot diggity
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
Nice! A little bit of awareness (butterflies) is not an entirely bad thing -- just keep owning that lane. Pretend that they don't see you, and further imagine that if they do see you, they don't like you. Grrrrr.

You picked a heck of a day for a first commute. Friday around my neck of the woods it's a total zoo on the roads. Stay big, bold, and aware. Double grrr.

mercm3

newbie still dammit
Reaction score
Visit site
Congrats Elizabeth, I know the nervous/anxious feeling first time to work. By the time I got to work, you would think I just did some 250 mile trip hehe.

gearheadstu

Reaction score
Visit site
Its a pretty cool feeling, eh? Aside from the butterflies, here's hoping the sense of adventure never fades.

Now that I'm a dedicated telecommuter, there are times I genuinely miss the process of suiting up and riding into the office.

99vengeur

Reaction score
Visit site