need for reset of the ECU when installing a Mivv slip on exhaust

DanishViking

Reaction score
Visit site
Hi guys. I have read several places that when disconnecting the battery will reset the ECU which will provide a "better" adjustment of the fuel/air ratio. however i would like to know if this is true and if the resetting is permanent?
later on i am going to get the powercommander installed on a Dyno. but for now i would like to change the original exhaust to the Mivv slip on exhaust, preferable without the machine running lean and thereby harming the engine. will resetting the ECU help this and give a smoother ride? and thereby not harming the engine when changing the exhaust. Or should i do the powercommander mod when changing the exhaust(then i have to wait a couple of moths because i am broke which sucks since i already have the exhaust )?

Hope i explained my self correctly! I am very new to motorcycle.
I have a yamaha fz6 n from 2008 (no abs)

Regards Philip

Last edited:

Zealot

The Village Idiot
Reaction score
Visit site
Hi Phil!

Yes, it's true. Unhooking the battery for like, 20 minutes to be safe, will let the capacitors discharge and effectively erase the stored maps on the ECU. That being said, the ECU will relearn correct fueling as you ride it again, but this can sometimes get rid of little inconsistencies or quirks - such as changes in back pressure and lean/rich mixtures due to changing the pipes. It's permanent until you repeat the disconnect - and swapping back to stock exhaust or vice versa would only require that for optimal performance. You could get by never unhooking the battery though, but might notice weird behaviour.