Normal operating temperatur - 09 FZ6

LinearCitrus

Reaction score
Visit site
I apologize if this isn't the correct section for this question, but it seems to fit.

I'm curious what "normal" operating temperature should be as indicated on the computer. Typically when I ride, it's in the afternoon between 70-80 degrees and is in and out of town, so some stoplights, but never sitting for more than 2 minutes at a time. By the time I get home (~ 5 miles, ~15 mins) the temperature indicated is around 215. Is this normal / expected?

Additionally, I'm relatively new to riding so I wasn't sure if I should leave the bike running when I get home, or at least the key on, to let the electric fan run a bit?

I appreciate the information.

Thanks

raja777m

Ride like you own it..!
Reaction score
Visit site
I apologize if this isn't the correct section for this question, but it seems to fit.

I'm curious what "normal" operating temperature should be as indicated on the computer. Typically when I ride, it's in the afternoon between 70-80 degrees and is in and out of town, so some stoplights, but never sitting for more than 2 minutes at a time. By the time I get home (~ 5 miles, ~15 mins) the temperature indicated is around 215. Is this normal / expected?

Additionally, I'm relatively new to riding so I wasn't sure if I should leave the bike running when I get home, or at least the key on, to let the electric fan run a bit?

I appreciate the information.

Thanks

When was the oil changed last time? It might have less viscosity causing more heat, due to friction.
Maybe it is time to flush the coolant and check the seal of the radiator cap.

People here prefer Honda's 50-50 as I remember. Engine Ice is also a good alternative. When I changed at 11k miles, it was like darker than Coca-Cola.
Make sure you don't have air bubbles in the pipes, after filling with the new liquid.