Numb Throttle Hand

J

jsteinb95

Does anyone have this problem?
It usually starts after about 20 minutes of riding.
When I first notice it, I loosen my grip and it gets better.:(

I've had this problem because I'm a newbie and I was told that I was gripping way too tight and that I need to pretend I'm holding a baby bird in my hand. So, if you're hand is getting numb, you have killed your bird. :thumbup:

reiobard

Samurai FZ Soldier
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
I loosen my grip and it gets better.:(

You answered your own question. Loosen up buddy!

the first thing they teach you at the track days that i go to is that the bike is generally a better rider than you and will not go down unless you interfere with it. You are on the bike to guide it more than to make it do what you want.

reiobard

Samurai FZ Soldier
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
Must have choked it to death :rockon:

I still catch myself choking the grips so i find it easy to span my fingers over the levers which forces me to loosen up on the grip because my hands are open and not "fisted" but it also gives quicker reaction time to the levers.

Numpty

Reaction score
Visit site
Does anyone have this problem?
It usually starts after about 20 minutes of riding.
When I first notice it, I loosen my grip and it gets better.:(

Me too mate,same problem was holding on to the throttle like there was gunna be no tomorrow.I went out on a ride last weekend totally relaxed but focused no destination in mind out for a couple of hours and no sign of pins and needles.Bingo relax the grip.:thumbup:

Bren

Reaction score
Visit site
Relaxing your grip does the thing. But pay attention to your gloves too. Too thick gloves or separate rain gloves makes it harder to maintain your grip on the throttle without squeezing.

H

HavBlue

You answered your own question. Loosen up buddy!