Oregon Scientific ATC9K Review

Smersh

The Pillaging Tatar
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
Jerry, thank you for the offer - I'd love to do something like that! Let me shoot you a PM with more questions - i'm an absolute newbie to this type of work, but I don't mind getting my hands dirty (well, if "dirty" applies to sketching) and reading up on stuff.

Another testament to how great and helpful this community is! :rockon:

Jblk9695

Elite Member
Reaction score
www.MachiningbyBlake.com
I sent you and email but thought I'd post some photo's here.
This is a camera mount and mirror extenders that I made for my V Strom--
DSC_0158.jpg

Worked OK but still had to much bounce for video so I tried this--
DSC_0279.jpg

Added two flanges with vibration mounts between them, still to much bouncing around with even the small video camera, Sony HC-40.
A still camera with the shutter speed over 1/1000 does a good job but it's more fun to take videos. In my opinion you have a couple of things working against good results--the mass of the camera and the high frequency vibrations of the FZ6. It's the vibs that cause a lot of the distortion in the video's as I proved to myself with the key fob camera's, one mounted in the front and one mounted in the back on the swing arm away from the engine. The back one produced good results with little or no distortion but no matter where the front was mounted it managed to pick up the engine vibs and distorted the video, it may have been electronic RF from the injector's. Only place it worked was when I mounted it on top of my helmet with Velcro:thumbup: and then the results where good.
I mounted a Minolta X-700 with cable release on the crash bars of my Honda GoldWing many years ago and had very good results with this set up. I think the low vibs from the flat 4 had something to do with it.
Keep working on different designs because I would like to find something that will work for various sizes and weights of camera gear:thumbup:

Jerry