Pants vs. overpants for first-time FZ6 winter rider

nthdegreeburns

Reaction score
Visit site
I'm new to riding (March 2013) -- just took my second bike bonding course with the FZ6 2 weeks ago in pouring rain, and I was wearing non-waterproof gloves and jeans. :eek:

My first stab at riding kit includes:
  • Arai Signet-Q helmet (oval noggin')
  • Tourmaster Intake Air 3.0 jacket
  • Tourmaster Response 2.0 WP boots
  • Bilt Sprint gloves (shorty, vented leather gloves)
After that experience, I've been trying to decide what pants to get for riding in fickle Georgia winter weather (sometimes 60F, sometimes 20F, in-between rainy), and the choices and costs are just mind boggling.

Suggestions for ANY brand pants (do I pack jeans or khakis to change into) vs. overpants (strip off the layers when I get to work) would be helpful. I'm 5'9", 200lbs and a 38" jeans at the hips, 41' measurement at the belly button -- so I gotta find something that's good for less than skinny men.

BTW, you may notice I like the Tourmaster stuff -- it's not top of the line, but it's affordable and I've not had issues with my jacket or boots. Gonna write a review about both on the site this week, if they're not already written.

Thanks!

nthdegreeburns

Last edited:

7UPyours

Reaction score
Visit site
I don't ride much in rain, only when get caught by passing showers, but as far as cold riding, I just use full thermal under my clothes and that works good enough to keep my compfty and I have ridden in high 20s low 30s degree weather, still do since it's 30 here every morning, as long as it's not wet and I don't have to worry about black ice, I'm game. I just need to upgrade my gloves to something warmer

Water Bear

Fireball
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
Howdy fellow Georgian!

It's expensive and cut slim, but Dianese is what I use and it gets the job done. Jacket and pants have 2 liners -- one waterproof, one thermal.