• No

Votes: 21 87.5%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

transistorplanet

Reaction score
Visit site
Hi everyone,

I hope it's ok that I joined the forum to ask this question. I've only ridden cruisers, so I'm new to the world of performance bikes. I thought I'd defer to the experts. I've been thinking about an SV650 or FZ6 as a higher-performance alternative to my sportster, either for commuting in NYC or as a track bike (which would be a new adventure for me).

I found a listing for a 2007 FZ6 with 28k miles. The seller wants $2500, which is a low enough number that I took notice. When I contacted the seller, he said:

"Honestly Ive only owned the bike for a year now and my plan was to fix it up a little and really have a nice bike but i have other projects... The bike runs great but the old owner dropped the bike lightly and tried to make it into a street fighter it needs some minor tlc but it still is nice."

I'm attaching pictures. You'll see right away what concerns me. Anyway, thanks for taking the time to read and weigh in. Hope I get to join you all in a more regular capacity soon!

No way. There are better deals out there. High miles with damage...For $3500 I got a '07 with 4400 miles and pristine condition. Yes that's a thousand dollars more than what this guy is asking, but look at the difference in what I got. At that high of miles (28K) the major service interval should have been performed. I would ask about that, because I think that runs about $800 or $900. Tires - If they're shot, you're looking at another $300 at least. Lot of factors to consider here. Honestly, if you're not looking to spend more than $2500, then you can probably get a nicer SV650 than FZ6. I love my FZ6, but I looked at the SV650 when I was shopping around. They are very nice bikes, nothing wrong with them. I think you sacrifice a little fit and finish with Suzuki (some, not all), but a good bike overall. My opinion - keep looking, there's more fish in the sea.