Winterizing

Randomchaos

Flaming Hot Doughnut
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
So this is my first year I have ever really needed to winterize my bike. I know to add some fuel stabilizer, full tank of gas, trickle charge battery, but how many of you change your oil before you winterize it, or is it better to change the oil in the spring time?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2

FinalImpact

2 Da Street, Knobs R Gone
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
Do it now; all the acids from blowby past the rings are in the oil. They can be toxic and actually eat steel and corrode aluminum. If less than 1000 miles, prolly be fine. If Greater than 4000 and in hi humidity area; i'd change it!

yamihoe

Professional test dummy
Reaction score
Visit site
+1 on lubing the chain!
I siphon my gas tank and unplug the pump then turn the bike on till it stalls, then take the battery out and keep it in a warmer place....keep both tires off the ground and air them down a bit. Make sure you have something that is actually good for less then freezing point even if you are keeping it in a garage. I just switched my coolant out for a more winter friendly mix. :thumbup:

Randomchaos

Flaming Hot Doughnut
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
I siphon my gas tank and unplug the pump then turn the bike on till it stalls

Does this allow for condensation to build in the tank and cause it to possibly rust? I have been told to store it with a full tank of gas mixed with a stabilizer due to this possibility.

PB4UGO

Reaction score
Visit site
IMHO it is better to store it with the tank as full as you can get it with stabilizer in it.

CanadianFZ6

Reaction score
Visit site
+1 on lubing the chain!