12v Socket - Relay

Goodeye

Reaction score
Visit site
Not been on the site for a while but thought after my last mod I would throw up a few words as there seems to be lots of threads online regarding what I did but few definitive instructions and answers which I needed.

So this weekend I fitted a 12v socket to the FZ6. this is a pretty simple thing to do if you just wire it directly to the positive and negative terminals but I wanted to be a bit more fancy and have it go on and off with the ignition. A relay is the best way to do this and while I was at it I thought I would put in a fuse box so if I wanted to run any additional accessories at later date I could with minimal fuss which would also go on and off with the ignition.

Firstly I bought the bits I needed - most came from eBay, 12v socket, fuse holder, 4 pin fuse box. The other stuff I needed I got from my local garage - wire, blade fuses, and electrical connectors.

I’m no electrical guy, I have no experience working on cars, bikes or at home so I hope that the issues I had and solved will help others. The biggest thing that I had to solve was the 'switched power' for the relay. the relay is essentially 2 circuits, one makes an initial connection and the other then allows power from the battery flow to where you want it to go.

I decided to put my relay on the left of the bike in the tray under the seat, although this is miles away from the battery it was the best place as it was in an area that I could work in and nothing would get crushed or messed with.

This was also close to where the wires for the rear light were connected to the main loom. The wires here are yellow, brown and blue. (Recently I had an issue with my bike that this connector had got full of water and over time this water had turned to gunk which meant the connection was rubbish). I needed to cut out this block so made it the perfect place to splice into the loom for the 'switched power').