ATGATT: I'm a paramedic student, this is my story.

tejkowskit

Gold Member
Reaction score
Visit site
The only thing that will really bother me is pediatrics. Being a father myself, I try to study hard to because I acknowledge it's not if, it's when I have to work a serious code on someone's child, and I want it to be the same as if I was working on my own daughter.

I am not a father, or a mother for the matter:confused:, so peds doesnt bother me as it would a parent. I can say peds is not difficult, though. Many people are scared of peds because they are not common patients! They lose touch with their standing medical orders on pediatric calls because they never use it.

Children can compensate very very well and are damn resililient! Know the physiological differences between peds and adults (no theyre not just "small adults"!!) and know your treatments and youll be fine. Although you rarely use pediatric protocols its best to study them even after you get your license.

FZ09Bandit

�� Paramedic ��
Reaction score
Visit site
Yes they can for a short period of time, but when they're done, they're done.

What my goal is, is to do 3-4 years in a high call area, get experience, go take some nursing courses, and be a flight medic or flight nurse on Angel one at children's hospital.

tejkowskit

Gold Member
Reaction score
Visit site

What my goal is, is to do 3-4 years in a high call area, get experience, go take some nursing courses, and be a flight medic or flight nurse on Angel one at children's hospital.

That would be very cool. Become a critical care paramedic and do flight! Would you wanna be on a chopper or do longer transports on a plane?

PosterFZ6

Reaction score
Visit site
I spent the last week in Florida and seeing all of these riders with no helmets just made my stomach cringe.

On one hand, I feel like getting on my soap box and preach ATGATT to all riders, on another these are grown adults and they know what they are doing.