ATGATT: I'm a paramedic student, this is my story.

FZ09Bandit

�� Paramedic ��
Reaction score
Visit site
Just another lovely day pulling double 14 hour shifts getting my clincal time in. You know pretty easy day...

I was thinking about getting my paperwork signed and ducking out early, I hear a signal comes over the radio "code blue" "open cranial head injury" so we prep the trauma room, get ready and wheel him in.

Blood everywhere, pulling CPR as soon as they get him out of he truck, we get him on the bed and start to ventilate, we do this for 5 minutes untill the doctor calls it.

Now imagine this scene, a face you couldn't recognize, broken teeth coming up through the nose, the jaw had been pushed back so far there was a gap I could stick my fingers behind it. Eyes, swollen shut. The cranium, you could fell the separation of the bones, it felt like jelly, along with dura matter (brain) exposed and laying in random places.

What does this have to do with ATGATT? Motorcycle VRS truck. The man was wearing no gear, no helmet.

Is this real for you yet? Because it sure as hell is for me.

Would he have lived if he had a helmet? My guess would be yes! He had a laceration on his shoulder and his femur was broke. Take the head out of the equation and the other stuff is manageable.

Thank you for listening, sorry but this is how i "diffuse" to maybe spread some education to those who may not think gear is worth it.

Last edited:

Erci

Howie Mandel's evil twin
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
Thanks for sharing. Hopefully a post like this will make someone who currently doesn't use proper gear think twice, and save a life in a long run.

Of course my guess is that many of the individuals who don't wear helmets are also the ones who don't believe in rider training. :don'tknow:

Bill

Super Moderator
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
Kinda off topic, but I'm with you on the ATGATT. Was this a trauma arrest? If so why were you working him?