Brake pads, squealing and related questions

nthdegreeburns

Reaction score
Visit site
I've read through 2-3 of the pages here in this forum area and found good advice. Just want to verify a few things...

• Front brake squealing - I've put about 200 miles on the bike in the past few weeks since I started riding. My mechanic noted that the front pads were close and would need to be replaced soon. If I'm hearing squealing when lightly braking, is that the heads up to replace OR indicative of larger service (e.g. the 2 year piston rebuild, which hasn't been done that I know of)?
  • Pad brand preference - Seems to be OEM, EBC, Galfer. I'm leaning towards EBC, as my local shadetree motorcycle mechanic uses them.
  • Pad type - Seems to be organic vs. sintered. I'm new to riding, and I'd prefer to NOT have harsh stops with sintered pads. Also not interested in replacing rotors at the moment.
  • Where to buy - I'm not seeing anything but semi-metallic Galfer pads on MotoSport.com. Is there a pad part reference anywhere here that folks can recommend based on experience? EBC's catalog was terrible (Excel spreadsheet).
  • Front and back pads simultaneously - Is it best to do the front and rear pads together, esp. on a 12.5K mile FZ6 with no service records bought 4th hand?
  • Bleeding the brakes - Should this be done when I or my mechanic changes out the pads (mechanic only 'cause I'm new to this)? If either of us push the piston back in (not past the edge of the caliper, I know), will the reservoirs overflow like a car's does?

Thanks for your time. This continues to be a great site for help with the FZ6.

Regards,
nthdegreeburns

lawlberg

Booth Babe
Reaction score
Visit site
Can't speak much to the pad choices etc - but mine has minor squeal (could fix this by brushing the pads and letting them reseat most likely) but still plenty of braking power.