Finally got my Fizzer a stablemate

Botch

I.Y.A.A.Y.A.S!!
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
I've been riding Fizzer since 2007, my first motorcycle. I've always loved it but the legroom is kind've tight, and I can't ride for more than 1.5 hours or so at a time; I've always wanted to take long tours out here in the West. I've been thinking about a bigger bike for a long time now (and the old-timers here are probably tired of hearing me talk about it :rolleyes: ), but I test-drove this over a week ago, was supposed to get it Wednesday, finally got it late Friday afternoon:

BMWR1200GS.jpg

Its a 2009, 16,000 miles on her, almost immaculate, and was loaded with extras: ABS, electronic suspension adjustment (when you increase the rear spring preload the headlights adjust to compensate!), Akrapovic aftermarket muffler, aluminum side panniers, engine crash bars, bottom skid plate, cylinder head protection plates, heated grips, BMW battery charger, a brand new second set of tires, a used set of knobbie tires, and PIAA auxiliary front lights.

When I test-rode it I was impressed by the legroom, but now after spending a couple of days with it I'm having a slight bit of buyer's remorse. With a displacement twice that of Fizzer, I expected some pretty impressive pull but its kinda "meh". The seat is NOT comfortable, but an aftermarket replacement can fix that. Will just live with it for a few weeks before deciding anything or buying extra farkles.

Some interesting comparisons with Fizzer:
1. The clutch is much less sensitive! Yay!
2. The brakes are much more sensitive! Boo!
3. You can't beat a 4-cylinder for smooth idle and acceleration.
4. It just isn't fun like Fizzer (but, that's not why I bought it)
5. The tech on the Bimmer is incredible!
6. Heated handgrips are fantastic.

So, we'll see...

Last edited:

Cloggy

Euro Mod
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
Congratulations on your new bike Botch :rockon:
It looks sweet, It's a nice bike for touring :thumbup: