Battery Keeps Dying

YoungAndDumb

Reaction score
Visit site
Hi, I'm a noob. I bought a new 2007 FZ6 two weekends ago. I rode it home that Saturday night from the dealer and everything was OK. The next day I took it out to do some very mild riding... learning the friction zone, smooth shifting, U-turns, etc... All low speed and low RPM stuff. I stalled it a few times that day and probably the 4th time, the engine would not turn over. I popped started it and took it home and then it still wouldn't start.

So I took the battery out and had a local dealer charget it up with a 2 amp trickle charge over night. I put it back in the next day and it started up fine. Since then I have ridden it 3 times (started right up each time, and I have not stalled it since) all medium riding stuff (a lot of ~4k RPM kinda riding), and I'll be damned!!! That battery is dead again.

This has been all day-time riding (maybe 3 hours total worth since the dealer charged the battery) and I have been riding with my high beams on.

Any ideas what's going on? Is the battery "bad"? Is there a problem with the bike? Will the high beams drain the battery like that??

Any ideas would be appreciated!

Nelly

International Liaison
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
Do you know how old the battery is? I have not experienced this problem with my FZ6 (but had loads of problems with medical device batteries) and there are many members who have a 4 year-old battery with no problems.
Do you run any external power from it?
How old is it? Can you verify that it has been looked after.
You may have a bad earth or just a bad battery.
Fortunatley there are loads of riders on here with more electricle knowlege than me to give you good advice.

Nelly

FZ1inNH

********* w/ Twisted Fate
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site