ficklepickle

Reaction score
Visit site
Hi guys,
I recently acquired a 2007 Yamaha Fazer FZ6 S2 with 89,000km/ 55600miles on it but it had unknown service history as I bought it from a bike shop. It is my first time owning a Fazer, coming from a Triumph Street Triple R. It seemed like a legitimate deal as the outlook was excellent and the engine idled smoothly. After I got it, I rode it around the block and realised the forks trembled whenever I went over a bump so I had a mechanic check it and the cone bearing was found to be damaged and the left fork tube was bent before (maybe in an accident) and a workshop just straightened it out. I had all those parts replaced and it cost me quite a bit of money.

I realised that the FZ6S has really soft forks and that they also have a clicking sensation at the end of the stroke, is this normal?

Next I realise the cam chain was rattling and the bike seems lethargic above 6000rpm (the rev needle takes a while to climb) and also the vibrations were tremendous. Could this lethargy be due to the need for Valve Clearance (assuming the previous owner did not do it)?

Cheers for all the advice!

Last edited:

FinalImpact

2 Da Street, Knobs R Gone
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
The dampening on the oem forks are nil. The least you can do is fresh oil and linear rate springs. Next step is emulators. But several of us just replace the fork with R6 parts which have linear springs and are fully adjustable.

Racetech and others make springs. Oils can vary but start with 7.5 to 10wt.

Define sluggish.... Most are rev happy but not a torque machine like the Triple.