Leaking Oil, need new clamp?

VEGASRIDER

100K Mile Member
Elite Member
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
I've been leaking oil for several months now, nothing serious, just a small drip but since the weather is nice, time to take care of the problem. It appears I just need to purchase a new hose clamp and screw, since the stock clamp and screw doesn't tighten any harder. If that's the case, will any hose clamp and screw from Lowe's or hardware store work? Or should I get a OEM replacement. The hose is still stock, I'm guessing it really needs to be replaced, but I can't find the part number of the hose. I want to see if a new clamp will stop the leak, if not I will have to replace the hose.

Scott, Randy, your thoughts?

5fdce572-be7a-4e88-b2d4-935e94c8f329_zpsqlp3csb5.jpg

20150420_192833_zpse1ixpfqu.jpg

Motogiro

Vrrroooooom!
Staff member
Elite Member
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
That's your water pump.... Could the oil be dripping from above the hose? That clamp and hose might be okay. Maybe the clutch cover gasket....? Also I know your crank shaft position sensor and other work was done previously so maybe that cover....

Last edited:

VEGASRIDER

100K Mile Member
Elite Member
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
Last edited:

Motogiro

Vrrroooooom!
Staff member
Elite Member
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
Waterpump, well that helps as far which clamp and hose. I think #22 & #13. The hose directly above the bottom one, which appears to be leaking from the clamp is not leaking, and I don't think it contains oil, maybe radiator fluid.

http://cdn1.bikebandit-images.com/schematics/schematics/yamaha/yam017/ya0210046046.gif

Maybe it's even a combo of coolant and oil? Hit it with some S-100 cleaner and pressure wash it right there so it's clean. Then you may have a better look at what's seeping and from where. If you see an oil drip on the ground you know it's an oil leak.

Last edited:

FinalImpact

2 Da Street, Knobs R Gone