New to bikes, new to FZ6.

Blackcombe

Reaction score
Visit site
Hi all, just dropped by as i'm rather new to bikes especially road bikes.

Been looking for a 600 road bike and favouring the FZ6 naked over everything so far - ER6N, SV650 etc.

I've read reviews online and finally test rode one for first time on weekend and straight away seating position felt right, although ride was short due to raining.

Now couple questions i'm hoping you guys (or girls) could assist with -
I'm coming from a TTR250, mostly ridden dirt and never a road bike (until just now) are these rather forgiving to ride for a newbie?
Are they easy to service, maintain and clean?
Are parts and services expensive? Tyres?

What are they like on the open road say cruising at 100km/h as far as the wind etc being naked?

Are there any common faults to look out for buying used? Looking at 2004 - 2006 models at this stage due to budget.

Excuse my silly questions as i'm like a fish out of water with all this :)

Cheers.

Harlequin Angel

Reaction score
Visit site
Hey Blackcombe,

I've only had my 09 fz6n for a bit over a month but previously had a little ninja. I haven't noticed much difference with the wind, but then again my ninja was so light I've had a side wind push me half way across a lane.

I put Pirelli angel GTs on mine being they're a bit harder compound being that most of my riding is commuting. They did go alright on the twistys a few weeks ago though :)

Can't give you an idea on services as I have a personal mechanic that's a friend of a friend so I get a good price anyway, but I've found it easy to clean.

I had my ninja for 2 years before upgrading but before that had only ridden in the dirt as well. In saying that I was originally looking at a z750 or z1000 but so glad I got my FZ. It has enough go without you being worried that the front end is going to lift every time you give it some.

These are just my thoughts but hope they help.

Blackcombe

Reaction score
Visit site