new to the fz6

epofHouston

Reaction score
Visit site
I have been riding for about 4 years now. Started on a ninja 250 after MSF. Moved up to a '01 Honda CBR600f4i and I loved that bike. I have ridden cruisers as well, harleys and metric cruisers but not for a long trip. Last month, I bought a '06 fz6 with 2300 miles on it. I took a 3 hours trip (all interstate) last week (left Thursday night and returned Friday afternoon). Here are some of the observations:

-The F4i had corbin seat and I can ride about an hour maybe an hour and a half on it. The FZ6 has factory seat so I would say it's about the same. Before the corbin seat, I could not ride the F4i for more than 45 min. The corbin seat on the F4i was cheaper just because it is two separate seats vs 1 seat for the fz6. I can see that I need to upgrade the seat on the Fz6 to be any long distance riding. No fund as of right now though.

-The riding position on the F4i allowed much less turbulence. I had the aftermarkert windshield on the F4i vs OEM windshield on the FZ6. My neck and shoulder was hurting after the ride which I never had experience before.

-The more upright position was more comfortable and my back didn't hurt quite as bad. It's still hurt but I am getting old also. LOL.

-The Fz6 averages about 45+ mpg vs the 34 mpg that I usually get from the F4i.

-The F4i is so much easier to 'flip around' though. I can lean through a curve with that thing like there is no tomorrow. The FZ6 takes a little more effort. I need to get a new handle bar to get down a little, that would help i think. Not as bad as cruisers though, I remembered first time I got on the cruisers, I leaned through a turn and sparks flew every where. LOL.

My $0.02

Good observations and none too surprising.

I've ridden for a total of about 20 hours seat time over the course of 3 days on the FZ6 with the stock seat and after the first 8 hours you just get numb to it and it doesn't hurt any worse. :D