Powder coating woes continue

Reaction score
Visit site
I am trying to get my rear sets powder coated and am having a hard time with it. I am wondering if I am doing too much. Those who have done this, please tell me what you removed before powder coating. I have been told that all rubber must be removed. Problem is, I haven't been able to remove any of the rubber except the foot rests! You guys don't seem to be having any troubles at all with powder coating. I must be doing something wrong or trying to do some things that don't need doing. I'm not a mechanic but I'm not a mechanical idiot either. At least I didn't think I was until I started this project. I'm having trouble with 3 things: 1) the joint that connects the shift lever to the shift rod, 2) the rubber around the bushings on the main plates and 3) the rubber backing on the big washers. Here are some pictures detailing the problems. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Hazardous006

Reaction score
Visit site
i know when i got my rearsets anodized i had a hard time with those bushings, but i will save u some time. I used a socket that fit just barely thru the hole and onto the lip of the bushing and had a deep well socket on the other side and used a shop press to get them out. You could use a hammer and get it out but it will take longer. When it comes time to put them back in deep freeze them for 24hrs and keep them in there. Pull them out one by one and it will be easier to put back in. But be sure to tape off the inside walls so they dont get powdercoated or it will be a pain to try and fit them back in.

DanG

Reaction score
Visit site
The issue with powder coating is that the cure process requires the item to be heated to nearly 200°C, so plastic and rubber might melt at those temps. Bronze, or any other bearing material can be left in there and either taped up or bunged (to keep the paint-powder off it).