Starting after a stall

hiroshikang

Reaction score
Visit site
Hi all,

New '09 FZ6. Lots of stalling. My question(s):
After stalling, do I need to turn the key and engine stop switch from their ON to OFF positions and then back to ON again in order to start the engine? Also, must the transmission be in neutral?

Many thanks!

hiroshikang

Reaction score
Visit site
Thanks Dude, Motogiro, Ezra!.

I'm a newbie. This is my first bike. So yes, it's inexperience that's making me stall so much.

That said, I may be experiencing a problem here then as pulling in the clutch and hitting the starter isn't doing the trick. I was taught the clutch/starter procedure in my MSF class and definitely panicked on a few occasions early on when it wasn't working for me. Now I've been turning off the ignition and engine stop switch and then back on again to get the motor started. Is this something I should have investigated?

FloppyRunner

Motorcycle Noooooooooooob
Reaction score
Visit site
I've been driving standard transmission cars for years, but it took me...well I don't know, but it took me quite a while to get to where I rarely stalled the FZ6. The nice thing (or so I'm told) is that everything else seems super easy after you do get used to it!

Motogiro

Vrrroooooom!
Staff member
Elite Member
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
Thanks Dude, Motogiro, Ezra!.

I'm a newbie. This is my first bike. So yes, it's inexperience that's making me stall so much.

That said, I may be experiencing a problem here then as pulling in the clutch and hitting the starter isn't doing the trick. I was taught the clutch/starter procedure in my MSF class and definitely panicked on a few occasions early on when it wasn't working for me. Now I've been turning off the ignition and engine stop switch and then back on again to get the motor started. Is this something I should have investigated?