Time for new tire(s)

beatle

Reaction score
Visit site
I took a long ride this weekend (400+ miles round trip) and at a stop I noticed something on my rear tire (Pirelli Angel ST). I put my finger on it but it wouldn't come off. Then I looked closer...

slT51mk.jpg

Yep, that's cord. I'm surprised that it's so localized. Maybe I flatspotted the tire when I locked up my rear brake once? :confused:

The front tire looks like this. It's sort of near the wear bar, I think.

jesYGJ2.jpg

I'm leaning towards replacing both tires. I'm not sure of their overall mileage, but they were in pretty good shape when I purchased the bike a little under 2 years ago. I've put about 7k on them myself. Twisties are pretty far away from me so a lot of it is just slab riding. What do you say - replace both tires or just one?

ChanceCoats123

Reaction score
Visit site
Never gotten new tires for a bike before, so I'm not an expert by any means, but it does look like the front is in need of it as well. 7k isn't bad on those tires, and sure you could probably get away with just the back, but then you'll have tires on different wear cycles and with all the work that the front tire does (you know, 80% of the braking), I just wouldn't leave it up to chance.

TownsendsFJR1300

2007 FZ6
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
As the front tire so close to needing replacement, I would likely replace it at the same time, with the same style tire. As most of your riding is slab riding, I'd be considering a good sport / touring tire (I prefer Michelin PR II's)

BTW, was the rear tire balanced?

If so, I suspect your probably right, someone had a hard stop and lost a little bit more rubber in that area...

But that rear should have been replaced a long time ago...

Last edited:

beatle

Reaction score
Visit site
As far as I know the rear tire was balanced. They were on the bike when I bought it.