Treatment of road rash.

Fred

M em b er e d
Reaction score
www.robietech.com
Anyone got any good advice?

I didn't wreck the bike. I did, however, do something stupid with an angle grinder and took some meat off of my left hand.

I'd like to avoid scarring. Anyone got advice (other than Don't Do That, something I already figured out.)

Fred

4drfocus

Rurouni
Reaction score
Visit site
Go to the pharmacy dept. and get a tube of "scar creme", I'm not sure who makes it, I bought a tube of the generic (Target) brand when I was in high school,it works wonders, I bloodied myself up pretty good during high school ie; skateboards & bmx,but if you saw me today you would never have guessed.

GastonJ

The Winged One
Reaction score
Visit site
Sorry to hear about the mishap, and glad to hear you're ok. I'm no doctor, and I'd be first to go to one, but below is a link that you might find helpful.

Road rash - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

There's a couple of links in there. Hope they help, but a hospital visit would be better,

Nelly

International Liaison
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
Its difficult to give advise with out seeing the wound. Please don't post a picture.
The first advise is. If your worried go and seek appropriate medical advice.
Secondly, wash the wound ideally with warm saline. Cover the wound with a non stick non lint sterile dressing. Redress after 48 hours. Once the wound is dry then you can either leave it exposed to the open air or if your working cover it up with a clean dry dressing.
Two schools of thought from where I work are:

1. apply a thin layer of Vaseline daily to avoid it itching and promote moist wound healing.
2. Apply a thin layer of Arnica cream on the wound. Lots of people swear by its healing and anti scare properties.

[edit] sorry forgot, some of the girls [hardcore A&E nurses] also swear by vitamin E cream.