Uh Oh. Laptop broke?

bikerider

Super Moderator
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
I spilt a little drink on my laptop keyboard. Now when I hit a button it types a bunch of letters. Is there anything I can do to fix it or do I have to get a new Keyboard? No more drinking around the computer.
Thanks for any help.
:Sport:

DrBart2

Reaction score
Visit site
I am not a computer expert but I have damaged a few.:mad: Has you computer completely dried out? Sometimes after completely drying they will start working normal again. If that doesn't work then someone wiser in the ways of computers will have to help you.:eek:

shaggystyle

Hummingbird slayer.
Reaction score
Visit site
spills on a laptop are one of the worst things to fix, and 9 times out of 10 you'll never get it 100% fixed. About the only thing you can do is get a big bottle of rubbing alcohol and some Q-tips. Take the whole laptop apart and clean EVERYTHING thoroughly. On most laptops you can remove the keys from the keyboard with a bent paperclip, they just pop off and then snap back in place once you've cleaned them. If you are really lucky, no fluid got into the hard drive or cd/dvd drive. If you are unlucky, you may need to replace those two things. Good luck, if all else fails. Put it on ebay, even with spill damage you can usually get a couple hundred for a decent laptop (depending on specs).

Edit: This is all assuming that the drink had sugar in it (which gets really sticky). If it was just water, try putting it on a hot rock out in the sun (which you should be able to find easy enough out in texas). Usually that will cook all of the remaining water out of it without damaging any components.

Edit 2: The above directions assume you have removed the battery and unplugged the power adapter first.

Last edited:

Hellgate

Moto Demi-God
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site