wax safe for helmet?

crazy dave

Reaction score
Visit site
I am new to everything when it comes to motorcycles. I just bought a helmet the other day and was wondering if it was safe to use car wax or polish on a helmet. If not, What would be a good product to use on the shell and visor?

steveindenmark

Older Member
Reaction score
Visit site
I have never waxed my crash helmet. I have never had the need to.

I clean the visor with warm water and washing up liquid. I used to wipe neat washing up liquid on the inside and then polish it dry with a soft cloth. It helps to prevent fogging.

I now have a Pinlock system fitted so I do not have the fogging problem anymore.

Steve

W

wrightme43

I use liquid glass auto polish on my helmet and shields.
It is not a wax though.
If it is a polish wax it will have a abrasive componet and will scratch.
If it is a pure wax it wont.
Liquid glass is a synth polymer that brings a very nice shine with no wax. It is 21$ for enough to do several vehicles and your motorcycle for a couple years along with helmets.

FZ1inNH

********* w/ Twisted Fate
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
I use Turtle wax spray-on. I remove the visor, spray a cloth then wipe it on. Let it haze and buff it to a shine. Apply shaving cream to the visor, wait a few minutes and buff that all off. Good to go!

FizzySix

Drunken Philosopher
Reaction score
Visit site
Apply shaving cream to the visor, wait a few minutes and buff that all off.

Shaving cream as an anti-fog? That's a new one to me. I'll try anything once! Things I like, I'll try 'em twice... The helmet must smell nice inside afterward? :Flash:

I've found Rain-X Anti Fog the most effective chemical-solution to fogging so far, but I am trying a foggy breath shield next, at least for Fall/Spring riding. Any material, from scuba mask defog to baby shampoo works roughly equally in my experience, so the next task is to divert the culprit: my warm and moisture-laden breath.