Weird Headlight Issue

fz6joker

Damn Hooligan
Premium Member
Reaction score
Visit site
For the past week my bike has been acting weird. Sometimes when I turn the bike on the headlights refuse to come on BUT then (after having done absolutely nothing to the bike, not even moving it an inch or anything at all) they will come on. Its like my bike is just saying yes or no to my headlights.

I have made sure all the wires are perfectly connected. I have done the dual headlight mod but every wire was soldered and taped up tight. The lights AREN'T acting like they are shorting out. Its either 100% on or 100% off.

I'm not a master electrician but I do know a little bit. There isn't anything I can think of to cause this problem.

Any ideas?

FZ1inNH

********* w/ Twisted Fate
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
Did you check the fuses? Which method of the mod did you use? There are several options such as BD43's harness, soldering at the handlebar, soldering at the frame, jumping to the left headlight, etc... These facts will help... :D

Stumbles06

Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
Not trying to sound silly or anything, but did you "start" the bike???

My headlights don't come on until the motor is running. Turn the key on, and only the pod lights come on, after you hit the starter, headlights come on.

:)

fz6joker

Damn Hooligan
Premium Member
Reaction score
Visit site
Yes. I started the bike, engine on and all that lol. :spank: Good question though.

W

wrightme43

Could be a failing headlight relay. Sounds like it anyway.

Cali rider

Reaction score
Visit site
I would simply check the plug/socket between the main wiring harness and the cowling harness first. Next would be the connection at the headlight relay. last would be the dimmer switch itself. If the lights are coming on eventually it's most likely a weak/loose connection.

fz6joker

Damn Hooligan
Premium Member
Reaction score
Visit site