What century is this?

Whirlygirl

Elite Member
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
Haha - had to laugh last night... worked a night shift on the Air Ambulance with another female pilot, which doesn't happen that often, since there are only two of us, out of about 30 pilots.

Landed at the hospital in Campbell River, BC at 3:00 am, only to have one of the local paramedics blurt out: "Wow - two girl pilots? Is that safe?" Now - don't get me wrong, I've been doing this for ten years, and am used to being an "anomaly" in this industry, but was actually a little shocked to hear a comment like that from a fellow "professional"! To top it all off, when we landed in Victoria, the boyfriend of the pregnant 18-year-old we were transporting, informed us that "Wow - girls really CAN fly!" I felt like reminding him that, yes, we can VOTE too! HAHAHA

Anyhow... just had to share... Good thing I've got a thick skin and a good sense of humour! :D

W

wrightme43

Just keep doing what you do. Arent females able to stand more G force before grey out than men?

Helicoptor flying kicks ass.

Hellgate

Moto Demi-God
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
Pretty funny. My cousin, female, used to fly 747s for United in the late 80's and early '90's until she passed away from breast cancer at age 36. She was 5'3" and 95 lbs soaking wet. She got all kinds of crap until the males saw her fly. They never said a word after that! She taught me to fly her father's Piper Super Cub. She could slip that thing down the tail, amazing. I think I just puked!

Y

yukon_alex

...Campbell River...To top it all off, when we landed in Victoria, the boyfriend of the pregnant 18-year-old we were transporting, informed us that "Wow - girls really CAN fly!"....

Hmmm. Campbell River, you say? Backward, chauvenistic, sexist? Really? Did you ask if the boyfriend was also her brother?