2006 FZ6 Won't Start?

Bernoulli

Reaction score
Visit site
Hi all,

So I finally started riding for the first time a bit today in a parking lot. Loads of fun though I was just about ready to do a bit of street riding when my bike up and died on me. I took a quick video of the issue I'm facing and since I'm very new to motorcycles and vehicle repair I figured I'd make a quick post about it.

I was encountering the issue to an extent earlier in the day but it rode fine for a few hours. Then when I went to start it back up after trying some clutch control it just wouldn't turn on? It sounds like the engine tries to turn over but won't hence why I'm thinking it might just be a battery issue. I purchased it from a dealership who installed the battery tender cables (but didn't supply a battery tender) and maybe didn't charge it for me?

Below is a link to the video.. any help getting this up and running would be immensely appreciated. It's just a bit frutstrating as it was the first day riding followed by some issues. Also, the Battery Tender might just be useless for me since I'm in the city with no nearby outlets to plug into... Any suggestions?

Also, from my research a few things I've got in mind to check out the next time I can are (checking battery first probably):

• throttle cable (read someone had an issue with slack in the cable causing the bike to not start)
  • the battery (hoping to be able to check this with a voltmeter [that I can borrow I hope]) - And I should be able to check the battery via the Battery Tender leads right? Instead of having to lift the gas tank and do some serious work I'd love to ensure that's the issue up front.